Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Irish success in end of season awards

Kevin Doyle - Wolves. Players’ player of the year award.

Doyle scooped the squad’s vote and top scorer for his eight goals in the Premier League at a star-studded bash at Telford’s International Centre.

Robbie Keane – Celtic. Fans player of the Year award.

16 goals from Robbie since his arrival on loan at Parkhead in January, has earned him the supporters player of the year award.

Richard Dunne – Aston Villa. Players’ player of the year & also part of the Premier League Team of the Year.

Dunne modestly attributed his Villa honour to the efforts of Martin O’Neill’s entire squad throughout the course of the season.

Stephen Hunt – Hull City. Official supporters player of the year

The Irish winger who scored six goals in 27 games before picking up a foot injury, won the award at a presentation evening held at the KC Stadium. Hunt is likely to move from Hull during the summer.

James McCarthy – Wigan. Player’s young player of the year.

In his first season at Wigan, McCarthy was the unanimous choice of his fellow professionals for the young player of the season award. He also scooped third in the overall player of the season award.

Aiden McGeady – Celtic. Players’ player of the year.

Voted player of the year by his fellow celtic teammates. Linked with a summer move to premiership side Birmingham.

Kieren Westwood – Coventry City. Players’ player of the year & supporters player of the year.

Ireland goalkeeper Keiren Westwood was confirmed as Coventry City’s supporters Player of the Year for 2009/10 and also scooped the Players’ Player of the of the Year award.

Adam Rooney - Caley Thistle - Scottish PFA Division One Player of the Year.

The former Ireland u21 international striker, who was voted the PFA Division One Player of the Year earlier this month, has attracted recent interest from clubs in England & Scotland, with English Championship side Doncaster Rovers the latest to be linked with the Irishman.

Shane Duffy – Everton. Reserve player of the year.

Everton Reserve Player of the Season was Derry’s young Irish centre-back Shane Duffy who broke through to David Moyes first team early in the campaign, impressing with his gutsy displays in Europa League action. Duffy has been included in Giovanni Trapattoni’s upcoming training camp in Dublin.

Joe Mason - Plymouth Argyle – Young player of the year

Ireland u19 striker Joe Mason was voted Plymouth Argyle player of the year. Mason made his breakthrough into the Pilgrims senior team this season with a debut against Sheffield United at Home Park in December and went on to play a further 19 times for Argyle, scoring three goals. He has won a call-up to the Ireland squad for the upcoming Under-19 European Championships qualifiers in Ukraine later this month.

Aidan O’Brien – Millwall. Schoolboy player of the year.

Ireland u17 international Aiden O’Brien scooped the Millwall schoolboy player of the year award after an impressive season for the u18 ‘lions’. O’Brien scored two of Ireland’s three goals in the final elite stage qualifying game against Austria which saw the u17 team heartbreakingly lose out on the finals to Greece.

Richard Keogh – Carlisle United – Player of the year

Former Ireland u21 international Richard Keogh was presented with his award before Carlisle’s final home game against Walsall. Keogh has recently been linked with a move to Hibernian.

No comments:

Post a Comment