Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Irish squad of 30 for U19 training camp

Ireland Under-19 manager Sean McCaffrey has announced a squad of 30 players for a training camp to be held at Bisham Abbey in England from February 28-March 4 as part of their preparations for the UEFA U-19 elite stage qualifiers in Ukraine.

The group will spend five days at the purpose-built training facility to begin working towards the qualifiers which take place from May 26-31. Ireland's route to the finals in France this July is a daunting one as they face both of last season's finalists in their group.

Receiving their first Under-19 call-ups of the season are Aaron McCarey (Wolves), Shaun Timmons (Birmingham City), David Cawley (Ipswich Town), Sean Kinsella (Plymouth Argyle), Nathan Rooney (Wolves), Ryan Connor (Stoke City), Gavan Holohan (Hull City).

Also receiving their first international call up's are Belfast players Daniel Kearns (West Ham United) and Daniel Devine (Preston North End).

League of Ireland clubs are well represented with Mervue United's recently-signed goalkeeper Ger Hanley joined in the panel by fellow netminder Ciaran Gallagher of Finn Harps, UCD defender Andy Boyle, Jimmy Keohane of Wexford Youths and Derry City brothers Shane and Paddy McEleney.

Ger Hanley - Mervue United
Ciaran Gallagher - Finn Harps
Aaron McCarey - Wolverhampton Wanderers
Johnny Dunleavy - Wolverhampton Wanderers
Richie Towell - Celtic
Callum O'Connor - Blackburn Rovers
Rob Kiernan - Watford (on loan to Kilmarnock)
Gavin Gunning - Blackburn Rovers (on loan to Rotterham United)
Andy Boyle - UCD
Daniel Devine - Preston North End
Shane McEleney - Derry City
Shaun Timmins - Birmingham City
Aaron Doran - Blackburn Rovers
Jimmy Keohane - Wexford Youths
Gearoid Morrissey - Blackburn Rovers
Conor Hourihane - Sunderland
Conor Henderson - Arsenal
David Cawley - Ipswich Town
Sean Kinsella - Plymouth Argyle
Nathan Rooney - Wolverhampton Wanderers
Ryan Connor - Stoke City
Stephen McDonnell - Unattached
Darren McCauley - Celtic
Gavan Holohan - Hull City
Robbie Brady - Manchester United
Daniel Kearns - West Ham United
Ronan Murray - Ipswich Town
Joe Mason - Plymouth Argyle
Jamil Adam - Barnsley
Paddy McEleney - Derry City.

No comments:

Post a Comment