Monday, February 22, 2010

Ireland squad named for Brazil friendly

Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni has announced a 23-man squad to face Brazil in the Emirates Stadium on 2 March.

Trapattoni has called-up uncapped Marc Wilson (Portsmouth), Greg Cunningham (Manchester City) and James McCarthy (Wigan Athletic) for the clash with Brazil. However, there is no place for ex-Bohemians goalkeeper Brian Murphy.

The squad will face a full strength Brazil side as Dunga and his players prepare for this summer's World Cup in South Africa.

Trapattoni said: 'I look forward to working with my squad again after the disappointment of Paris.

'The priority now is to build on the progress made during the last campaign and prepare ourselves over the coming months mentally and tactically for an important Euro campaign.'

Goalkeepers: Shay Given (Manchester City), Keiren Westwood (Coventry City), Joe Murphy (Scunthorpe United).

Defenders: Richard Dunne (Aston Villa), Stephen Kelly (Fulham), Kevin Kilbane (Hull City), Kevin Foley (Wolves), Sean St Ledger (Preston North End), Paul McShane (Hull City), Marc Wilson (Portsmouth), Greg Cunningham (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Celtic), Damien Duff (Fulham), Darron Gibson (Manchester United), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Keith Andrews (Blackburn Rovers), Stephen Hunt (Hull City), Liam Lawrence (Stoke City), James McCarthy (Wigan Athletic).

Forwards:Kevin Doyle (Wolves), Robbie Keane (Celtic), Shane Long (Reading), Leon Best (Newcastle United).

No comments:

Post a Comment