Wednesday, August 26, 2009

Ireland U21 squad announced

Ireland under-21 manager Don Givens has named an 18-man squad for next month's European Championship qualifier in Tallinn against Estonia.

Histon's Lanre Oyebanjo, James McKeown of Peterborough United and Aston Villa's James Collins are included in the squad for the first time. Reading midfielder Scott Davies is also in line to make his debut for Ireland at this level.

Manager Don Givens is looking forward to the squad: 'Estonia are a good side, they work very hard and will make it difficult for us, especially since they are at home.

'They went to Switzerland earlier this month and won. I saw that match and I was impressed by them. It's a tricky fixture for us but I'm very happy with the squad I have.'

He added: 'A lot of the players are experienced at this level, having been regulars with the under-21s for some time now.

'We also have a few new faces in the squad, so I am looking forward to getting a close look at those players. This is a strong squad, one that is certainly capable of making an impact in the European Championship qualifiers.

Ireland U21 Squad

Shane Redmond (Burton Albion), James McKeown (Peterborough United), Michael Spillane (Norwich City), Brendan Moloney (Notts County), Darren Dennehy (Hereford United), Shane Lowry (Aston Villa), Ian Bermingham (Shamrock Rovers), Lanre Oyebanjo (Histon), Stephen Gleeson (MK Dons), David Meyler (Sunderland), Owen Garvan (Ipswich Town), James McCarthy (Wigan Athletic), Alan Judge (Plymouth Argyle), Jay O'Shea (Birmingham City), Scott Davies (Reading), Cillian Sheridan (Plymouth Argyle), Sean Scannell (Crystal Palace) and James Collins (Aston Villa).

No comments:

Post a Comment