Saturday, August 22, 2009

Ireland squad named for World Cup qualifier

Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni has announced a 24 man squad for the forthcoming FIFA World Cup group 8 qualifier against Cyprus in Nicosia on September 5 and the friendly against South Africa on September 8.

Trapattoni said, “We have put ourselves in a good position in the qualification group going into this game. The match against Cyprus is very important as we continue to try to book our place in South Africa next summer.”

He continued, “The match against South Africa in Thomond Park will provide useful preparation for our final two World Cup qualifying games against Italy and Montenegro in Croke Park in October.”

Ireland squad v Cyprus and South Africa

Shay Given Manchester City
Keiren Westwood Coventry City
Joe Murphy Scunthorpe United
John O'Shea Manchester United
Kevin Foley Wolves
Richard Dunne Manchester City
Stephen Kelly Fulham
Kevin Kilbane Hull City
Eddie Nolan Preston North End
Sean St. Ledger Preston North End
Aiden McGeady Celtic
Damien Duff Fulham
Darron Gibson Manchester United
Glenn Whelan Stoke City
Keith Andrews Blackburn Rovers
Liam Miller Unattached
Stephen Hunt Hull City
Andy Keogh Wolves
Liam Lawrence Stoke City
Caleb Folan Hull City
Kevin Doyle Wolves
Robbie Keane Tottenham Hotspur
Shane Long Reading
Leon Best Coventry City

No comments:

Post a Comment