Friday, August 24, 2012

Trapattoni names squad for opening World Cup qualifier

Giovanni Trapattoni has named his 23 man squad for the opening 2014 World Cup qualification match against Kazakhstan on September 7.

The squad will be without Damien Duff, who today made the announcement of his retirement from international football.

Commenting on Duff’s retirement, the Ireland boss said: "We will be without Damien Duff who has been a truly great player for his country.

"I thank Damien for his immense contribution and hope his professionalism and dedication will be an inspiration to the wingers who are now emerging in his place."

Keiren Westwood - Sunderland AFC
David Forde - Millwall FC
Darren Randolph - Motherwell FC

Marc Wilson - Stoke FC
John O’Shea - Sunderland AFC
Sean St. Ledger - Leicester City FC
Darren O’Dea - Toronto FC
Stephen Ward - Wolverhampton Wanderers FC
Stephen Kelly - Fulham FC
Paul McShane - Hull City FC

Glenn Whelan - Stoke City FC
Darron Gibson - Everton FC
James McCarthy - Wigan Athletic FC
Seamus Coleman - Everton FC
Joey O’Brien - West Ham United
Aiden McGeady - Spartak Moscow FC
Andy Keogh - Millwall FC
James McClean - Sunderland FC

Robbie Keane - LA Galaxy
Kevin Doyle - Wolverhampton Wanderers FC
Shane Long - West Bromwich Albion
Simon Cox - Nottingham Forest
Jon Walters- Stoke City FC