Thursday, August 2, 2012

Ireland U21 squad named for crucial Turkey qualifier

Ireland Under-21 manager Noel King today announced his squad for the crucial UEFA U21 Championships Group Seven qualifying round match against Turkey.

The Irish will host the Turks in Sligo on August 14th.

King has a number of players available to him that were unable to feature in the 2-2 draw with Italy in June while several of the squad moved to new clubs in the close season.

“I am pleased that the likes of Rob Kiernan, Adam Barton and Conor Henderson have made good progress on their respective injuries,” said King at today’s squad announcement.

“The Turkey game is massive for us. We have three very big games left in the group but we have to pick up where we left off against Italy in June.

“We will be looking for the Sligo public to come out and give us the same fabulous support we’ve had at the Showgrounds so far in the tournament and I’d love to see supporters coming from further afield to support the lads.”

The ten group winners and four runners-up with the best record against the teams first, third, fourth and fifth in their sections advance to the play-offs.

Ireland U21 Squad:

Ian McLoughlin MK Dons FC
Aaron McCarey Wolverhampton Wanderers FC

John Egan Sunderland FC
Greg Cunningham Bristol City FC
Gavin Gunning Dundee United FC
Rob Kiernan Wigan Athletic FC
Shane Duffy Everton FC
Niall Canavan Scunthorpe United FC

Jeff Hendrick Derby County FC
Adam Barton Preston North End FC
Conor Henderson Arsenal FC
Richie Towell Unattached
Conor Clifford Chelsea FC
Samir Carruthers Aston Villa FC
Eunan O'Kane Bournemouth FC

Robbie Brady Manchester United FC
Aidan White Leeds United FC
Aaron Doran Inverness CT FC
Sean Murray Watford FC
Sean Scannell Huddersfield Town FC
Rhys Murphy SC Telstar
James Collins Swindon Town FC