Thursday, October 6, 2011

Trapattoni names Ireland team for Andorra qualifier

Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni has named his team for Friday's Euro 2012 Group 2 qualifier with Andorra.

John O'Shea replaces Stephen Kelly with Sean St Ledger coming in for the suspended Richard Dunne from Ireland's last game in Russia.

Trapattoni has resisted the temptation to bring Keith Fahey into the midfield after he hinted at using the Birmingham midfielder in training earlier this week.

Glenn Whelan and Keith Andrews start in the middle of the park.

Damien Duff and Aiden McGeady continue on the wings with Robbie Keane and Kevin Doyle leading the Republic attack.

Ireland team to play Andorra:

Shay Given, John O'Shea, Sean St Ledger, Darren O'Dea, Stephen Ward, Damien Duff, Keith Andrews, Glenn Whelan, Aidan McGeady, Kevin Doyle, Robbie Keane.