Thursday, August 11, 2011

Trapattoni names provisional squad for crucial Euro qualifiers

Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni has announced a provisional 32 man squad to face Slovakia and Russia in September's crucial Euro qualifiers.

Kevin Doyle is his biggest concern, having departed the squad on Tuesday with a recurrence of a knee ligament injury suffered in the 2-1 win over Macedonia in March. The manager appeared resigned to the fact he would be without the Wolves striker when speaking after the 0-0 draw last night, but has included him nonetheless.

Ireland squad


Shay Given
Keiren Westwood
David Forde


John O’Shea
Paul McShane
Kevin Foley
Seamus Coleman
Stephen Kelly
Stephen Ward
Richard Dunne
Sean St. Ledger
Darren O’Dea
Damien Delaney
Ciaran Clark
Kevin Kilbane


Glenn Whelan
Darron Gibson
Keith Andrews
Keith Fahey
Andy Keogh
Aiden McGeady
Damien Duff
Stephen Hunt
Liam Lawrence
James McCarthy
Keith Treacy
Marc Wilson


Robbie Keane
Kevin Doyle
Jon Walters
Shane Long
Simon Cox