Wednesday, December 17, 2008

Given and O'Shea among FAI shortlists

Shay Given, John O'Shea and Kevin Doyle were short-listed for the senior international player of the year at today's announcement of the 19th eircom/FAI International Awards.

Bohemians dominate the League of Ireland awards with two of the three nominations after their double winning season. Owen Heary and Brian Murphy are joined by Keith Fahy, who starred for St. Patrick's Athletic this season including strong performances in the club's Uefa Cup games.

Reading striker Doyle, Manchester United's O'Shea and Newcastle goalkeeper Given were some of the best performers since Giovanni Trapattoni took over as Republic of Ireland boss.

The nominations were chosen by a panel from the Soccer Writers' Association of Ireland and are divided into a number of categories. They include a Hall of Fame Award, a Special Merit Award and an International Personality Award which will be awarded on the night.

The awards ceremony will take place on Sunday, February 8th in Citywest Hotel, Saggart, and all winners will be announced live on the night. The ceremony will be televised live on RTÉ Two with coverage from 8pm.

eircom/FAI 19th International Awards nominations:

Kevin Doyle - Reading
Shay Given - Newcastle United
John O'Shea - Manchester United

Aiden McGeady - Celtic
Andy Keogh - Wolves
Stephen Rice - Shamrock Rovers

Owen Garvan - Ipswich Town
Stephen Quinn - Sheffield United
Darren O'Dea - Celtic

International Goal of the Year
Robbie Keane v Cyprus (H) 15/10/08
Andy Keogh v Serbia (H) 24/05/08
Kevin Doyle v Georgia (A) 6/09/08

League Of Ireland
Owen Heary (Bohemian FC)
Brian Murphy (Bohemian FC)
Keith Fahey (St. Patrick's Ath/Birmingham City)

U19 Nominees
Michael Spillane - Norwich
Brendan Moloney - Nottingham Forest
Garry Breen - Hereford United

U17 Nominees
Conor Hourihane - Sunderland
Ger Hanley - Salthill Devon
Aaron Doran - Blackburn Rovers

No comments:

Post a Comment